On Sunday, I had the opportunity to try bison meat.

A 6-ounce bison burger

A 6-ounce bison burger

I was at one of my favorite restaurants, The Jean Bonnet Tavern in Bedford. It’s too far away to go there often, but I try to go there if I’m in the area. I’m there so rarely that I don’t really have a favorite, other than the French onion soup, and because I didn’t go to the gym, that was out.

I’d heard a lot about buffalo meat and how it’s supposed to be much healthier for you. A couple of Web sites I’ve looked at have said that 3.5 ounces of buffalo meat has 143 calories, compared to beef’s 283 and even chicken’s 190. These were six-ounce burgers, so they still came in at less than 300 calories. Not sure how many that big (and I might I add, delicious) roll and the cheddar cheese added, but I paired it with a side salad and had only eaten breakfast (Special K red berries and a minneola) until then.

(In the interest of full disclosure, after dinner I had a tall Skinny Vanilla Latte from Starbucks, which comes in at 90 calories.)

I thought the buffalo meat was delicious — leaner than  beef and just really flavorful. And not only was it healthy, it was from a farm fewer than 10 miles away. I asked the waitress for directions, and we had time to kill, so off we went to see where dinner had come from.

bison1bison2

How awesome is that? I usually feel too far removed my food source, so it was excellent to know that the meat was raised right down the road. The farm doesn’t have a Web site, but it is in Schellsburg, Pa. The gift shop was closed, or I would have tried to bring some buffalo meat back with us. I’m not sure if you can buy it at the grocery, but I’m definitely going to be keeping an eye out for it.

