It seems like no matter where I’m traveling, I always find a way to stop in Mifflin County, where I lived and worked for six months in late 2006 and early 2007. I wasn’t there very long, but I made some really great friends and memories there, so it is really one of my favorite places to visit.

The purpose of today’s visit? Breakfast with my good friend and faithful blog reader Kassia.

ashkassia1

Kassia embarked on her own healthy living/weight loss adventure a few months ago, and I saw a big difference in her today! I’m so excited for her.

Kassia took me to Honey Creek Inn, a little country restaurant in Reedsville, Pa. I never ate there when I lived in the area, but from her description I was excited to try it. It was very busy with the after-church crowd, but we had excellent service. It was very cute and quaint on the inside.

bridal-shower-031

I opted for the Mexican omelet. I had it made with Egg Beaters for an extra $2.29, which was pricey but  worth it, especially because I liked the taste. I’m not a big egg fan. It came with taco-seasoned beef, cheese and chiles. It was delicious!

bridal-shower-030

It also came with two pieces of wheat toast. I ate a piece and left the other one.

After our breakfast, Kassia and I trolled around Ollie’s Bargain Outlet, looking for random stuff to pass the time until Goodwill opened at noon. I was surprised when I got to the groceries; they had some steals!

bridal-shower-035

 

All of this cost $3.77.  It’s all set to expire within the next few months, but I’ll use it before then. The little dessert bowls are 140 calories each, and for 79 cents, I thought I’d try them for a little treat.

Tonight, I came home from the gym and enjoyed a giant bowl of the Cascadian Farms Organic Granola Dark Chocolate Almond Cereal. I was gone all weekend, worked this afternoon at my part-time gig and then went to the gym, so I won’t be doing my grocery shopping until Tuesday evening. I have a lunch date tomorrow and a frozen dinner for after the gym, and lots of fruit, yogurt and Wheat Thins to get through the day.

bridal-shower-038

It was so good.

It’s too high in calories to be my regular cereal, but as a bigger meal it was perfect. Sweet, crunchy, chocolatey, just delicious. I may go have some more.

And because this post is all about Mifflin County, I have to give a shout-out to my newest reader, my friend and former editor, Jane. Thanks for reading, Jane!

