Today certainly didn’t go as intended. I was out of Special K, which I have for breakfast every day, without fail, unless I am traveling. Still, I had lots of good foods that would be great for breakfast. I had a light yogurt and Fiber One bar and threw another Fiber One bar in my bag to eat after my shift at my part-time gig and before the gym. I picked up a sugar-free vanilla cappucino at McDonald’s because I had a coupon for a free one.

If you are thinking that that doesn’t sound like enough food to last for five hours and a workout, you are correct.

I walked down through the plaza after work to run a few errands and didn’t feel right. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but it was a general feeling of unwellness. The manager brought cupcakes in today, but they were pretty small and I know  myself well enough to know that one cupcake is not going to make me sick. I wasn’t too concerned because I’m premenstrual right now, but it was still odd. I decided it was best to skip the gym today.

I ate the other Fiber One bar when I got back to the car, and it carried me through the next two stores and home. The more I thought about it, I realized I was lacking the right fuel. So when I came home, I cooked up veggies, whole grain penne pasta and sauce and microwaved some chicken. (Whole chickens were 79 cents a pound this week, so I cooked a nearly five pound one in the slow cooker, carved it and have been using it all week.)

blog-4-04-0041

I used Green Giant’s immunity blend microwaveable veggies — roasted red peppers, carrots and broccoli in an olive oil glaze. They were so good, and I wish I’d stocked up more when they were on sale for $1 box this week. Curses! I’m very picky about vegetables, though, so it always come as a surprise when I like them. I have two boxes of that mix and another variety still in the freezer, though.

blog-4-04-0011

I’m still surprised when broccoli doesn’t make me gag.

Honestly, though, I am much more surprised that I have reached a point where I need to remind myself to eat enough. After years of eating way way too much, it’s so strange to think that I ate so little that I felt weak.

I need to blog more regularly! This week got a little crazy toward the end, but I should have made blogging a priority. I know I’m very new, but I love the food blog world — everyone is so nice and supportive, and everywhere you look, there are new ideas.

