I think Easter is my second favorite holiday, right after Halloween. I’m not a big candy person, but it’s nice to have a treat (or two or three) and besides, Easter means spring, which means summer, which means fresh produce and not having to maneuver snow drifts in high heels or constantly freezing …

ashleycropeaster

I got these Easter ears for my mother, grandmother and sister because I thought it’d make a cute photo. It did, but I’m not sure how any of them would feel about blog notoriety, so I cropped myself out of this one. And I’m not even going to apologize for my vanity, but so you know, that’s slept-in eye makeup and hair. Just so you know.

I got to meet up with Liza, and she presented me with these adorable chocolate sugar cookies.

easter-003

I think Liza should quit her day job and start a cookie business. She makes such cute ones.

We the traditional Easter dinner of ham, deviled eggs, mashed potatoes … and a bunny cake! My mom baked it and I decorated it, although she did the icing around the eyes.

easter-008

We named her Blanche. We were too stuffed from dinner to actually eat Blance for dessert, so I brought a piece back with me.

easter-001

When I first started my healthy living adventure, holidays were a big challenge for me because I’d get really worried about deviating from my normal diet. I still get a little nervous, but for the most part, I’ve learned to enjoy the foods even more because they’re not my usual fare. (And it’s a good thing — I can’t imagine eating Marshmallow Peeps every day! Helloooo diabetes.) I’ve also found that I’m sometimes a little letdown when I finally do have the candy. It’s like, Why was I so excited? This isn’t even that good.

Happy Easter!

