If (and that’s if) I have one identifiable weakness, it’s pizza.

Domino’s, Papa John’s, Cici’s, Romeo’s, Pizza Hut … I believe, as the saying goes, that pizza (much like sex) … well, even when it’s bad, it’s pretty good. So the Pizza Hut lunch buffet is pretty much like Christmas, the wheel and sliced bread, all rolled into one.

Fortunately for me, they decided to tear down (only to rebuild) the Pizza Hut near my office last summer. Before that, I probably ate there two to three times a month, which isn’t that bad, but not good for someone trying to lose weight and live healthfully.

It had completely fallen off my radar until a coworker told me it was reopening a few weeks ago. Actually, what she said was something along the lines of, “You probably won’t care because you’re a good girl now, but … ”

I still don’t know what she meant, but she was wrong. I cared. I didn’t want to, but I did. And I knew I’d be venturing there soon. It’s like when you have to keep sucking air through a cavity to make sure it still hurts.

This is my “hungry week,” what I’ve taken to calling the week before my period because I get hungrier than usual. Some months it’s not so mad and others there isn’t enough salt and chocolate in the world. It hasn’t been so bad lately, though, and I think read, possibly in Self, that eating more plant-based proteins lessens PMS symptoms, which would make sense because I have been eating more fruit.

Still, if there were ever a week in which I would not be able to avoid the siren’s song of the Pizza Hut lunch buffet, this was it.

It was  so premeditated. I deliberately did not pack my lunch or snacks. I stuffed the June InStyle in my purse to read. I was ready.

I knew I shouldn’t do it, but at the same time, I wanted to get it over with. I wanted to see if I could go to the Pizza Hut lunch buffet and eat like a normal person.  And I did. Kind of.

I had a salad to start, as every diet book and weight loss expert will advise you to do, and then I went up for the buffet. I stuck with the thin crust slices, because I know the pan style has way more calories. What did me in, though, was the bread sticks. I was a bit full all afternoon. Not uncomfortable, just full.

Which made me think that yes, I suceeded — I went to Pizza Hut and ate like a normal person. Which is still too much. My goal should have been to go to Pizza Hut and eat healthfully. Next time.

And there will be a next time, I’m sure, probably about four weeks from now. But I hope I can remember what I thought as I was leaving the restaurant — that it’s never as great as I think it will be.

What is as great as I thought it would be is losing weight and eating healthfully.

