Today was a pretty blah day, weatherwise and just in general. I had the day off, which is always sweet, but it was gray and rainy. My internal clock tried to force me out of bed at 8:30 a.m., but I read a bit and was able to sleep into 11 a.m.

I ventured to the gym this afternoon, and it was just a great workout. I have an off day every now and then, but this was just an on day. I hit my stride and flew through 45 minutes of intervals on the elliptical, then did some arms and core work. I could still feel the core work I did Monday (and yesterday I went for a long walk, tightening my  core muscles as I went up and down the hills). I just love feeling those muscles. That’s weird, isn’t it?

Foodwise, today was pretty dull: Kashi Go Lean Crunch for breakfast, white chicken chili for lunch (it was from a  jar but it was delicious … no photo because let’s be honest, white chicken chili will never look as good as it tastes) and one of those frozen diet pizzas for dinner. I was trying to keep it light because I was meeting a friend for ice cream tonight.

0603 007

I actually had chocolate peanut butter frozen yogurt, which the sign alleged was fat free, but I don’t want to know how many calories were in that much of it (and the waffle cone).

Working treats into my day is something I’ve had to work at. I used to be (and sometimes still am) very much of the all-or-nothing mindset.

I have some chicken baking so I can make wraps, salads, etc. I committed a sin tonight: I went to the grocery without a list. I didn’t buy any impulse items, but wandering the aisles searching desperately for something healthy, convenient and not too expensive is enough to send me over the edge (or at least to the nearest Panera).

Does anyone have any grocery shopping/meal tips? I usually get out my coupons and cookbooks and ad circulars before I shop and plan meals, but lately I’ve gotten out of the habit.

