You know the one bad thing about training for a 5K? You can kiss these babies goodbye.

0617 shoes 024

One of my recent clearance scores from Target: 4-inch platforms (with a raised toe bed so they’re not as painful as they look), $7.48 marked down from $29.99.

The first week of the Couch to 5K program is pretty easy, and yet I’m really sore in my thighs and quads, which I didn’t expect. It’s sore enough that wearing mega heels is not an option. I don’t mind, though. I’m so psyched to run this race that I feel not wearing heels for awhile is an OK trade-off.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the race, and I can’t help but wonder: How much of it is mental?

I know that physical training is super important, but I  think that mental preparation is just as important. I recently read that the mind-body connection is so powerful that thinking that you feel well can actually cause you to feel less pain.

It’s funny, because my lobster-loving buddy Rose just wrote about optimism (well played, as always, with oatmeal visuals) and I was going to mention her in my post about optimism, which I’ve been thinking about all day. Rose knew me when I was a lot less upbeat. It’s not easy to think positively when you weigh 300 pounds. Nothing, actually, is easy when you weigh 300 pounds.

My life is a lot easier now that it is healthy, for several reasons — the least of which is not that when you look good, you are treated entirely differently. Because that is the honest-to-God truth, from someone who’s lived it. But that’s another post for another day.

I’m more positive because I feel better and have a ton of energy and, well, it is just plain easier for your bones to move when you weigh less.

Don’t get me wrong: I complain. A lot at times. But as long as you’re boring the hell out of the listener, I think complaining can even be healthy — it gets the negativity out of your system.

But complaining is no longer my outlook on life. I’ve been dealing with a lot of negativity in my personal and professional lives recently, and I’ve just had enough. My optimism will bring me out on top! And to the finish line of a 5K race!

It’s kinda funny, in a way, to me: the former angry 300-pound girl, counting on positive thinking to propel her through 3.1 miles and a whole lot of bullshit.

What are your thoughts on optimism? Do you think negative thinking can become a self-fulfilling prophecy?

