Today marks the end of of the second week of the Couch to 5K Challenge.

Monday: 90 seconds of running, 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes

Tuesday: Monday turned into a marathon day so a nap interfered with my kickboxing plans

Wednesday: Morning: Run 1/4 of a mile, walk a 1/4 mile, for a total of a mile and a half; evening: boot camp class

Thursday: An off day because I locked my keys in my car and had to be driven an hour away to retrieve the spare

Friday: 20 minutes on the elliptical, chest/arm routine; 90 seconds ofrunning, 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes

Saturday: 90 seconds of running, 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes

Sunday: Two minutes of running, two minutes of walking for 45 minutes; cool-down walk back to the car

This week was not as active as I would have liked, but life interferes like that sometimes.

On Friday, I was feeling pretty tired from driving all over on Thursday, but I forced myself to go to the track. This may not be the best day, I told myself, but it will certainly not be the worst day, because you are going to run. And I did. It was one of the few days when I didn’t leave the track feeling like I could do more. I think I hit a mental wall on Friday. But it was OK, because I still did what I needed to do.

Today, we hit a nearby nature trail to run for two minutes, walk for two minutes. It was pretty cool, and I definitely prefer the trail to the track — it was easier to look at different things and not think about how far I’d gone or how much time was left.

At one point today, I was walking, and I thought to myself, Are you walking because absolutely have to, or because you’re lazy? Toward the end I would run run run, walk a bit, then run run run. My running buddy was quite a bit behind me at quitting time, so I gave one last hurrah and sprinted up to catch her so we could walk back together. My legs felt like Jell-O at that point, which made me happy. I was pushing it.

In keeping with the plan, tomorrow I will run 90 seconds, walk 90 seconds, run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes and repeat. I’ve already run for more than 3 minutes, so I know I can. I just get nervous that there is going to come a point in the challenge when I can’t do it and have to repeat a week, and while there’s absolutely no shame in it, I just don’t want to.

The race I want to run is in 90 days! I’m excited, but so so so nervous. I’m really glad I started this program because it’s challenging and gives me something to work toward. Even when I feel like I can’t run anymore and am angry that I can’t run farther, I still can’t wait to run again.  I have a lot of little things I tell myself during and after my runs:

  •  Just keep going. It’s the only way you’ll get ever get better.
  • You’re running double what you could two weeks ago
  •  It’s like anything else. You have to want it. And you do.

What sort of pep talk do you give yourself?

