I had to make a rule. No more ice cream in the house.

I have never made any food off limits to myself, because it would inevitably lead to a binge. So, I can still go out for ice cream. I’m just not bringing it into the house for a good month. It was just getting to the point where I would rather eat ice cream than anything else, and that’s just not healthy.

But what do you do when you’ve made the rule and the craving is still strong? Substitute.

0703 005

Tonight, all I wanted was something cold and sweet, but I was not about to stop for ice cream after grabbing a cone yesterday. So I went to the store and bought a giant bag of frozen fruit — sliced strawberries, mango, peaches and pineapple. And, OK, there’s fat free whipped topping on there, too.

It really hit the spot. I foresee a lot of frozen fruit in my future … 🙂

I tried another substitution tonight, of a different sort.

0703 004

Shredded veggie protein that was supposed to mimic barbecue pork. And guess what? It did! And this is coming from a true carnivore, someone who would eat meat with a side of meat if it were healthy. The “meat free” label was not all that appealing to me, but I loved this stuff. I only tried it because it had a 75 cent off coupon on the package, and my grocery doubles coupons, so it cost me around $1.50. I loved that it had 70 calories per serving, but I ate about a serving and a half for a good 105 calories worth of veggie protein.

It was very filling and, like I said, very tasty. I mean, it’s processed soy product, so it’s not the healthiest thing I could have had for dinner, but I liked it a lot and would buy it again if I stumble across another deal like this one.

If you missed it, and read this in the next hour, my lobster-loving buddy Rose is having a super fun Old Bay giveaway! Check it out!

