Today marks the end of week 3 of the Couch to 5K Challenge.

  • Monday: Run 90 seconds, walk 90 seconds, run three minutes, walk three minutes and repeat
  • Tuesday: off
  • Wednesday a.m.: Run 90 seconds, walk 90 seconds, run three minutes, walk three minutes and repeat. I struggled on this day, not because I couldn’t run but out of boredom. I was beginning to loathe the track. I knew Friday would be a little different.
  • Wednesday p.m.: 45 minutes of elliptical intervals (half-heartedly; I wasn’t feeling it), followed by an awesome chest/triceps routine my favorite gym buddy devised for me. I was sore until Friday morning!
  • Thursday a.m.: Running/ralking through my neighborhood. This is difficult because my neighborhood is all hills, but I felt good when I caught up with my newspaper carrier (my route wove in and out of hers) and she said, “Wow, you’re fast! How’d you get up that hill so quick?”
  • Friday a.m.: I set out to do the run 90 seconds, walk 90 seconds, run three minutes, walk three minutes … but I did better! I ran the 90 on the track, and when it was time to run again, I veered off track (literally) and ran around campus. I told myself it would be awesome if I could run five minutes. Well, the change of scenery served me well — I didn’t even look at my watch until 5 minutes, 30 seconds, and I think that is the only reason I stopped at six minutes. Mental, mental, mental.
  • Friday p.m.: Back and biceps routine from the same awesome gym buddy.

My biggest disappointment this week is that I did nothing Saturday and only some core and leg work on Sunday morning. I had planned to run both days, but between work, the holiday and the mountain of laundry (that I barely made a dent in) it didn’t happen.

Tomorrow the plan says to jog 1/4 mile or three minutes; walk 90 seconds; jog 1/2 mile or five minutes; walk 1/4 mile or 2 1/2 minutes; and repeat. I’m not worried — after all, I breezed through six minutes. I will probably stay on the track tomorrow to get a feel for my speed. I think I might be just about there or a little faster.

