This photo sums up the middle of my week: a lot of fun and indulging.kassia farewell 011

On Wednesday, I worked at both jobs and had a hair appointment in between, so I left my house around 9:30 a.m. and didn’t return until after midnight.

On Thursday, I had to be back at work around 9 a.m., and afterward immediately drove an hour and half to for Kassia’s goodbye party at our favorite bar. Another late night — I didn’t get back until close to 2 a.m.!

So you can imagine, by Friday, I was feeling it. I still had to be at work at 9 a.m., and I knew what I really needed was a hardcore workout. So even though I was tired, I dragged myself to the gym after work for 30 minutes on an elliptical I don’t use often. Its movements are closer to actually running, and I was dripping with sweat after 30 minutes (on my usual machine I can d0 45 minutes or more and not blink an eye.)

I know their readings are usually off, but this machine said I went just over 4.5 miles in 30 minutes. Inaccurate or not, that felt pretty great. And it’s a newer machine, so maybe it’s not that far off. 🙂 I did a few strength moves (leg criss crosses, tricep dips, a few rows) before I hit a wall.

It’s funny — two days without exercise and my body was so out of whack! I think every cell was sighing with relief when I left the gym last night. I slept a lot last night and took a long nap today to try to get rid of some of my sleep debt, too.

This morning I went out for my first run since Monday. (On Tuesday, I went to body sculpting and logged some elliptical time.) I was nervous and fully expecting an off day, but it really wasn’t. It wasn’t my best, but I don’t feel like I’ve regressed at all.

I am having trouble pacing myself. I know that from my house to the post office downtown is just over a mile, and the first time I ran there, it took about 13 minutes, which I felt wasn’t bad for my first run outside. The next time (literally the next day), though, I pushed past the post office, down to the end of the block and felt like I’d been running for forever. This time, I thought, you’ve definitely run a full 20 minutes without stopping.

It was nine minutes.

How is that possible?! I’m guessing that because I was going faster, I thought I’d been running longer, and now that I have landmarks, I run faster to get to them. I made the transition from the track to the road about three weeks ago, and I like it so much more, although the first few times out I could definitely feel the difference in my lower back and hip flexors.

I get discouraged pretty easily because every day I go out thinking, today you will run three miles nonstop. I stopped following the Couch to 5K program a few weeks ago and now just run as far as I can, or as long as I can, and I feel like I’m still making progress. I just can’t run three miles yet. I wanted to be doing that by July 26 so I’d have two months to build speed for my race, but I’m just not there yet.

Yet.

Every time I get angry, I think to myself that on June 14, the day I started, I couldn’t even run a quarter of a mile, and running for 60 seconds was a huge victory. I am making progress, maybe just not as quickly as I’d like.

