Food, fashion and fitness tidbits from the weekend:

  • For the first time ever, I ran 3.5 miles tonight and finished strong! It was the greatest feeling, we really picked it up for the last .25 and I am so pumped to run tomorrow night. This was following a few weeks of really mediocre running, which I’m now blaming on intense humidity. Major credit goes to my running buddy Anne, for distracting me with conversation and encouraging me to keep going! Go us! 🙂
  • My ankle has felt weak for a few weeks now, so I bought an ankle brace yesterday. It never really hurt, but it made me nervous to run on it. I honestly think wearing heels for an entire work week combined with running is what did it, so I’ve been sticking to kitten heels and ballet flats. (Maybe I shouldn’t have been wearing 4-inch platforms to the office in the first place …)
  • I know I said I wasn’t going to buy any clothes for awhile, but I totally did. The back-to-school sales are so good this year it is eating me alive. I didn’t do much damage: $9.97 on a pair of Old navy pants in kelly green. They’re a 12. Damn.
  • I’m just not that into cooking lately. I’m also not that into blowing money on eating out, though, so I had to find a happy medium. I found a bag of five individually packaged, boneless skinless chicken breasts for $5.46 at Walmart tonight. I was going to buy a rotisserie chicken (about $4) and cut it up but decided the extra $1.50 or so was worth it (and will keep me from snacking on chunks of chicken as I rip it off the bone, which I’ve been known to do). Too bad I don’t have some bottomless pit of money that just allows me to eat every meal at Panera. I definitely don’t, though, so please through any cheap and lazy cooking tips my way!
