Now that I’m officially registered for a 5K on New Year’s Eve, it’s even more important that I run as much as I can. Unfortunately, it’s been extremely cold and icy, so I’m stuck on the treadmill. Even more unfortunately, I can’t find my mp3 player, and I think I left it in the strength training room at the gym. I’ve tried on two occasions (at the desk last night and by phone today) to see if someone turned it in at the lost-and-found, but apparently there is one person in the entire operation who can unlock the lost-and-found safe, and she was unavailable both times. Grrr.

I made my best effort last night to run on the treadmill sans music, but it just was not working. I think I used up all my mental willpower with the Back Fat Be Gone routine from Health.com (I added planks, jumping jacks and tricep dips for my own little circuit routine.) When my efforts to retrieve the mp3 player failed today, I came home and did the Jillian Michaels 30-Day Shred Level 2. As always, Jillian kicked my ass, but there is no workout that makes me feel as good as running does when I’m done. 🙂

While I was shredding, my dinner was cooking.

(Cell phone photo — sorry! Ten days til Santa brings my new camera. 🙂 )

 I made an “easy quiche” from a recipe I found on a PCOS message board, soulcysters.net. Because these last 20 pounds are particularly stubborn, I’ve been looking for foods and recipes specifically geared toward insulin resistance.

Stuffing Quiche

Box of dry stuffing
6 eggs
1 cup of milk
1/2 onion chopped
Peppers and/or any other veggies you like (mushrooms, tomatoes, etc.) chopped

Lightly spray a pie pan with oil of choice. Pour in the stuffing from the box. On top of the stuffing place all your veggies chopped up. Beat the eggs and milk, then pour over the stuffing and vegetables. You want to make sure the egg mixture goes all the way to the bottom of the dish (sometimes I have to poke around with a fork to get it to soak down). If you want you can sprinkle cheese on the top.

Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes. You want the egg to cook through.

I used a bag of frozen veggies out of cheapness and laziness and skipped the chopped onion. I tried a small bite after it was done and decided the stuffing was still a little too soggy, so it is going back in the oven for a few minutes.

If you usually read the blog through Google reader, stop by and check out my new masthead — my mom designed it! 🙂

Chobani Giveaway

If you love Greek yogurt as much as I do (and that’s a lot) check out The Fit Bride’s Chobani Giveaway!

