It is going to be a fabulous year!

(At least, according to my wall calendar! Heh heh.)

I have not really made any New Year’s resolutions since 2005, when my healthy living adventure began. Every New Year prior to that, I always made a resolution to lose weight, and obviously they never stuck. Since my weight loss had been rolling slowly but steadily along, I figured there was no need for a resolution. It’s something I commit to every day.

But I am at a rather frustrating stage in my weight loss, the final plateau. I have lost around 120 pounds, but I still have a gut and am about 20 to 25 pounds overweight (according to my doctor). And I have spent the past three weeks eating cookies and pizza and ham ‘n’ yams, and it is time to get back on track. Perhaps it is time for a resolution or two, too!

Health/fitness resolutions

  • Take strength training seriously. I know that weight lifting could push me past this plateau, and yet I just don’t really make an effort to get into a routine.
  • Eat more vegetables. I am never going to be satisfied snacking on carrot sticks, so I need to find healthy recipes that incorporate lots of vegetables.
  • Plan meals; cook at home more and eat out less.
  • Keep running. Run a few more 5Ks; register for a 10K by late summer or early fall.

Blog resolutions

  • Blog regularly; try to post at least once a day.
  • Become a more active member of the blog community and read and comment on other blogs regularly.
  • Increase my readership.

Personal resolutions

  • Get organized. Spend 15 minutes a day cleaning up after myself so it’s not suddenly Saturday and the house is a trainwreck. Pay  bills on time and sort mail as soon as I get it.
  • Return to handwritten correspondence. Liza and I used to exchange at least one letter a week, but that’s majorly slacked off since we both started texting. I haven’t sent as much mail to Sam in Brazil as I’d like, and I used to send my grandparents cards regularly, too.
  • Stop obsessing over. every. little. flaw.
