I have been tired and hungry all day, so it is a good thing I threw my dinner into the slow cooker this morning.

Boneless, skinless chicken breasts + fire roasted tomatoes

Yes, I use generic tomato paste. I have no shame.

Basically you mix that little packet of spices with the tomatoes and paste and dump it over chicken breasts in the slow cooker and cook for about 8 hours. The little packet of spices also calls for mushrooms to be added, but they make me gag, so no mushrooms.

I am posting this dish because meals like these are what have helped me to lose the weight and keep it off — easy, nutritious, healthy and filling. If I knew I wasn’t crazy about planned for dinner, I’d just swing by Pizza Hut and call it a night.

Obviously, if you want to lose weight and be healthy, you need to go for low calorie, high fiber, veggies, lean protein, etc. But there’s a lot of room to play within those basic guidelines, and success is a matter of figuring out what works for you.

So, tell me: What works for you?

