Greetings from the 2010 Pennsylvania Farm Show! It was a long day, but this is the fourth farm show I’ve covered, and it gets easier each year. The photographer I worked with last year and this year swears we walked five miles around the complex, but I’d bet it was no more than two miles at the most (of course, I am too cheap to invest in a pedometer 🙂 ).

I think any foodie would appreciate the farm show, because it’s a huge agricultural expo, and let’s face it, you can’t be a blogger/writer/runner/whatever without someone else growing your food! The farm show also features some pretty amazing cooking demonstrations, though we didn’t make it to any of those today. I’m supposed to head back later this week, so we will probably check out the cooking demonstrations then.

Other than all of the exhibits and information about the farm show, the food court is a huge draw. It’s just delicious food that you really can’t get anywhere else. It’s kind of like holiday goodies — they’re only around once a year, so you have to eat them! 😉

All week I had been looking forward to a barbecue beef sandwich from the Pennsylvania Cattleman’s Association, but when I got to the booth, they didn’t look like the delicious sandwich I had at Ag Progress Days in August, so I opted for the Philly cheesesteak.

There it is, friends. In all its greasy glory. And this is after I took a bite! I did not intend to eat the whole thing, but I was starving by the time we stopped for lunch (despite breakfast and a snack) and before I knew it, the sandwich was gone.

I didn’t stop there, though. I broke a promise to myself I’d been fixating on all week.

I told myself that this year, I wasn’t going to get the deep-fried mozzarrella cubes. But I walked by that booth twice searching for my coworker and then I just knew I had to have them. I tried to get my coworker to eat half, but he refused, and I just couldn’t bring myself to throw two of the pieces in the trash. I only felt slightly ill afterward, and it’s probably because of all the walking we did after lunch. (Metformin is not a very forgiving medication if you eat something really greasy or doughy or out of the ordinary for you, but I have found that if I get moving, it sort of speeds the digestion along and avoids most issues.)

While I ate lunch, I stood at one of the tables and watched the other people in the food court and wondered if any of them were obsessing over what to eat. Was anyone else fighting an internal battle of “You do NOT need this!” versus “It’s once a year — no big deal. Have it!” I am always fascinated by people who can approach food so casually, like the receptionist in an office I frequent who has chocolate bars in a glass bowl on her desk. How does someone do that?

I don’t like to waste time regretting food choices, but I’ve thought about the cheese cubes more often than I’d like to admit. I studied the photo of me in front of the cow for a long time, convinced I looked heavier than when I left my house this morning (but body dysmorphia is another post for another day).

The bottom line is that one day, one choice, is not going to make or break you (even though it felt like it might break me mentally this afternoon). The big picture is what matters, and my big picture is healthy — and happy that I had the cheese cubes.

