I’m not very creative in the kitchen, so a small wonder like tonight’s dinner is actually a big victory for me.

I put a pot roast in the slow cooker overnight, around 7 p.m. It was still half frozen so I figured it would need some extra cooking time.

I set my alarm for 6 a.m. and added chopped frozen onions and peppers and half a bag of baby carrots to the mix. I packed up my lunch for work a little after 8 a.m., but I knew I’d want something a little different for dinner tonight.

I put the pot roast, onions and peppers on a sandwich thin and added some reduced-fat shredded cheddar cheese. I toasted it in the oven at 375 for about 10 to 15 minutes.  Topped with salsa and served with Guitless Gourmet spicy black bean chips (they were on sale this week … and they are awesome!) and a tablespoon and a half of artichoke and spinach hummus = DELICIOUS!

Here’s how my workout schedule is shaping up for the week:

  • Sunday: Off
  • Monday: Ultimate Bikini Body DVD + 30 minutes elliptical intervals
  • Tuesday: 45 minutes elliptical intervals
  • Wednesday: Ultimate Bikini Body DVD
  • Thursday: Active rest (walking)
  • Friday: Cardio at the gym
  • Saturday: Boot camp class at the gym (possibly)

My Tex-Mex pot roast was kind of a spur-of-the-moment meal, but I’m curious: What sort of twists have you added to comfort foods?

