I am embarrassed to admit that I had not broken a sweat in about two weeks. It is the longest I have ever gone without a proper workout since I started my weight loss journey in May 2005.

Don’t get me wrong; we were quite active in Jax and did a lot of walking. But I didn’t break a sweat or lift a weight or push myself in anyway the whole time I was there, and for a few days before I left and after I returned.

Tonight, though, I hit the gym, not sure how it would feel to exercise after such a hiatus. I know it can be a little rough to get back into the swing of things after three days away, but maybe because I’d prepared mentally, it wasn’t as bad as I thought it’d be. I hit the treadmill for 30 minutes (ran a mile, walked a bit, ran some more, walked at an incline for a brisk pace), spent 20 minutes on the elliptical, did two (rather pathetic/less than 30 seconds) planks and three sets of 10 tricep dips.

I know that I really have to focus on making my workouts a priority, because life is just going to get more hectic from here on out. I did not lose 120 pounds to feel fat on my wedding day, so I really want to kick up my fitness routine to get in the best possible shape. I do not want back fat, jiggly arms or a paunchy stomach to forever haunt me in my wedding photos — and there isn’t a wedding dress out there that won’t highlight all of those problem areas.

One week into our engagement and I am already infatauted with looking at wedding dresses. I can’t post about what I’m looking at (I have several ideas!) because my fiance reads regularly, but how can you cannot love Gwen Stefani’s wedding dress?

If you’re engaged, are you working toward a fitness goal for your wedding day? If you’re already married, were you happy with the shape you were in for your wedding day?

