A PR rep for Kellogg’s FiberPlus Antioxidant snack bars recently e-mailed me to see if I’d like to try their new snack bars. The company read my review of the new 90-calorie FiberOne chewy bars and wanted to see how theirs stacked up in a taste test.

They sent me one of each of their flavors to try: dark chocolate almond, chocolate chip and chocolatey peanut butter.

 

I love peanut butter, so I grabbed the chocolatey peanut butter flavor first.

Here it is next to my phone, for size comparison. (I guess I need to clean my phone.)

The chocolate flavor is awesome, and the added peanut butter flavor really made the bar seem like a treat. It was quite filling, too, which is a big plus. All of the flavors were awesome, but I especially liked the dark chocolate almond and the chocolatey peanut butter.

Here’s a little about the bars, from the Kellogg’s Web site:

  • 35 percent daily fiber requirement
  • 130 calories each
  • Contain Vitamin E and Zinc

Based solely on taste, I would choose the Kellogg’s bars over the FiberOne bars, so the giant “TASTES BETTER THAN FIBERONE!” splashed across the front of the boxes isn’t a lie. However, the Kellogg’s bars do have 40 more calories than the FiberOne bars, so one has to choose between fewer calories and better taste.

Both bars have lengthy ingredient lists, so if you’re looking for something that isn’t super processed, this product is not for you (nor are most snack bars).

Now, on to the fun stuff: Two Fashionably Fit readers will win their own Kellogg’s sampler pack! There are several ways to enter:

  • Leave a comment here telling me the best chocolate-covered food you’ve ever eaten (strawberries, bananas, bacon, marshmallows, etc)
  • Follow me on Twitter and tweet the giveaway
  • Link to the giveaway on your blog and come back and leave a comment with the link

The giveaway will end at midnight Friday, April 2. Good luck!

