My fiance is a flexitarian, which means he eats a mostly vegetarian diet but also eats meat on occasion. Through the course of my weight loss I learned to like a lot more vegetables and even order a vegeterian entree at restaurants every now and then. When I was 18, I wouldn’t even eat lettuce!

I love meat, as in, I would eat a burger with a side of chicken if it were healthy. Fortunately, I have learned to put health ahead of taste, and the idea of a flexitarian diet really appealed to me. I have put together a few flexitarian dinners for us this week.

On Sunday, we wanted something quick and easy, because we were exhausted from my move-in weekend. We tried this meat-free barbecue pulled veggie proteins with a side of Annie’s mac and cheese mixed with spinach.

We both really liked the Gardein — Garden Protein, but it was really expensive ($4.99 which amounted to three servings — one each for dinner and fiance took another sandwich in his lunch) and we really only bought it for convenience’s sake. But there were so many delicious-looking Gardein products that we’d like to try — I hope Publix has a sale soon. 😉

I usually consider Annie’s too expensive, but fiance hit a sale at Target before I moved. Do you like his bachelor-pad placemats? 😉 I know, I’m lucky he had any placemats, but he is actually very big on eating meals at the table and taking time to enjoy your food. The champagne was in celebration of our first dinner together (simple as it was!)

On Monday, I wanted to use the free Eggland’s Best eggs I received through the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program. After some quick Googling I decided on a spinach-and-cheese frittata.

I used six eggs, two egg whites and a bunch of chopped frozen spinach that I defrosted in the microwave. I don’t think there is a better bargain than chopped frozen spinach. You can throw it in everything, and it’s so cheap! It’s an excellent, easy way to eat more greens, which is something I have always struggled with.

It was even better reheated, which I did not expect from a frittata.

For Tuesday, I made a pasta bake inspired by this recipe from Self.com. I say “inspired” because I am really terrible at following directions, whether it’s a recipe or furniture assembly instructions. I tend to just work with what I have and hope for the best. This time, it worked.

I boiled and drained the pasta and mixed the cheeses, as the recipe suggests. One of the secrets of this recipe is that the cottage cheese adds to the cheeey, creamy goodness of the dish without being as fattening as using all ricotta cheese. Then I cooked the onion and garlic and added the following to the pot:

  • 1 can of Publix brand roasted diced tomatoes and onions
  • 1 can of Publix brand no-salt-added tomato sauce
  • Lots of chopped spinach
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Oregano
  • Parsley flakes

Then you add the pasta and cheese mix to the pot and stir it all together and bake at 350 (F) for 30 minutes.

It was delicious, and I’m honestly excited for the leftovers! The real star of the dish was this Dreamfields Foods pasta I stumbled on at Target yesterday.

Low glycemic index pasta! For $1.99! I am insulin resistant so it is important that I try to eat foods low on the glycemic index. Basically, the lower a food’s score on the glycemic index, the longer it takes to digest, so it doesn’t spike your blood sugar levels and leave you hungry an hour later. Starchy foods (white breads and pastas) are typically super high on the glycemic index.

I’ve read mixed reviews on the Dreamsfields pasta, but I honestly felt that it was filling. Some of the reviews are from diabetics who test their blood sugar after meals, and I am not diabetic and do not test my blood sugar. However, I do take metformin (a generic of glucophage) for my insulin resistance and it reacts with a vengeance if I eat something too starchy (or greasy). I had zero issues after the Dreamfields pasta.

Where do you get your recipe inspiration? I have a few cookbooks, and I also like to Google whatever I’m hungry for to find lighter versions of the meal. We’re thinking of subscribing to Cooking Light, and I’d also like to get “The Flexitarian Diet: The Mostly Vegetarian Way to Lose Weight, Be Healthier, Prevent Disease, and Add Years to Your Life”.

****Don’t forget to enter my Kellogg’s FiberPlus giveaway!****

