I’ve had Tim McGraw’s “Refried Dreams” in my head since I started preparing tonight’s dinner, Refried Bean Poblanos with Cheese.

I’m down here in Mexico

Sick as a dog

I’m nearly drownin’ in this border town bar

Down to my last dime and comin’ apart at the seams …

Now I’m messed up in Mexico, livin’ on refried dreams

Anyway, it was very easy to put together.

You halve and seed the poblanos (which are really not that spicy).

Then you microwave on high for 3 minutes.

While the peppers are in the microwave, you mix up the filling: Refried beans, rice and picante sauce.

Not very pretty, eh? Then you stuff the pepper halves.

Then they go back in the microwave for 2 minutes. Then, top with cheese and microwave for 1 minute, 30 seconds.

The guacamole on the table is Dancing Iguana Spicy Guacamole and it was free with a coupon from Publix. It was good, but I think I’m ruined on all guacamole for life after trying Anna’s.

Unfortnately, I really didn’t care for the stuffed poblanos. I dunno, I just didn’t like the texture of the bean mixture combined with the cooked pepper texture. Fiance really liked it, though, so I guess we know what he is having for lunch this week! 🙂

Fiance and I have an interesting health dynamic in that he is much better at eating good, nutritious foods and I much better at working out. We both really benefit from living together, because his eating habits encourage me to eat better, and my exercise habits encourage him to get moving.

This afternoon, we headed out to one of the bigger parks in the city for some trail walking.

We didn’t do anything too intense, just followed a trail that took us about 45 minutes to complete. Last night, we ran/walked three miles. Fiance did the Couch to 5K program last fall, too, and got to about two non-stop miles before he stopped.

For the most part, I didn’t really run over the winter, but in the weeks before I moved I was running two non-stop miles with my running buddy, who was always the cheerleader. Now, I’m the cheerleader, and I don’t mind it as much as I thought I would. I find I even encourage myself!

The trail was beautiful.

I love Florida!

I’m off to decorate this year’s bunny cake! Have a Happy Easter! 🙂

