Our first Easter dinner, I am proud to report, was a success. 🙂

Ham is one of the fattiest, saltiest meats there is, so as a health blogger I probably shouldn’t admit this, but I love it. I usually only eat it on Easter and Christmas, and I always look forward to it.

For our first Easter I really wanted to use my friend Melissa’s dad’s glaze recipe. I had it at her house last spring and it was awesome.

  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon dry mustard
  • 1 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • whole cloves
     
    Ham should be scored and whole cloves put in creases.  Mix dry ingredients in saucepan.  Gradually add water and vinegar.  Simmer for 10 minutes.  Add butter and orange juice.    Pour mixture over ham.  Bake, covered, at 250 degrees.  Cook 20 minutes per pound.  Baste ham frequently, every 15 to 30 minutes.

I didn’t have cloves, so I figured it could go without them. I also didn’t read Melissa’s e-mail very carefully and did not cover my ham. It still turned out great!

On the side we had grilled asparagus. I marinated it in a litle olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic and put them on the George Foreman for a bit.

I used a “light” recipe for the candied yams:

2 large sweet potatoes, boiled until tender, then peeled and cut into chunks. Half of the sweet potatoes were put in the pan, then half of the following mixture:  1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon and a tablespoon of flour. Add the rest of the sweet potatoes, the rest of the mixture, then 3/4 cup of orange juice.

The sweet potatoes were the failure of Easter dinner … they weren’t quite done when they came out of the oven, so they went back in so that the leftovers would be good.

My plate (that’s a salad plate, for reference, but yes, I love ham!)

We had the bottle of wine my running buddy gave me as a going-away gift with dinner. Delicious! Thanks, Anne. 🙂

Speaking of going-away presents, I finally got to wear the apron Anna gave me before I moved.

It’s printed with ’50s housewives! I just love it. Thanks again, Anna! 🙂

For dessert we had this year’s bunny cake, which I tried to make as healthy as possible.

It was an angel food cake mix with vanilla Greek yogurt icing. The yogurt-based icing is why it looks so sloppy.

Greek yogurt icing is easy. I used about 2 cups Greek yogurt, 3/4 cup powdered sugar, and 2 teaspoons vanilla extract.

It worked really well for angel food cake, but I’m really not sure what other kinds of cake it would work for. It’s sweet and tangy and good, but it does not taste like icing.

Dessert was supplemented by yet another present: Easter bunny pops! My friend and maid of honor Liza sent us two Easter bunny pops from Harry & David.

Even Drama got into the Easter spirit.

Happy Easter, y’all (as they say in Florida!) I’m going to go harass fiance into cleaning the kitchen. 🙂

