When someone asks me how I lost weight and I tell them, “Diet and exercise,” they sometimes make a face and then say, “I don’t have time to exercise.”

This answer always makes me laugh. I started losing weight while working as an intern and a Walmart cashier, in May 2005. I continued to lose weight during my senior year of college, when I was working part-time as a reporter, while I worked as a full-time reporter after college, with split shifts and unpredictable hours. My weight loss continued when I got a full-time reporting job with more predictable hours — and a retail gig on the side to pay my student loans.

The point is that no matter who you are or what you do or what commitments you may have, you probably have time to exercise. How many hours of your day are sucked up by mindless activities — Facebook, TV time and yeah, blogging and blog reading.

Funnily enough, now that I have more free time, I’m finding it harder to exercise. As my days pass in a blur of job applications, phone interviews and freelance writing assignments, it’s too easy to say “I’ll do it later.” When I was working two jobs, I knew I had to get to the gym at a certain time, run at a certain time, or I wouldn’t be doing it all.

If you are new to weight loss and just beginning an exercise routine, the good news is that it won’t take up much time at all. I started with 20 to 30 minutes on the elliptical, but I’ve read other weight loss bloggers who say they’ve started out with short walks. If your current routine consists of walking from the couch to the fridge, head out for a walk around the block.

As for me, I’m eating healthier than ever since moving in with my flexitarian fiance. Now, I need to re-commit to my fitness goals so I can push through the last phase of my weight loss. This means:

  • Strength training two days a week (Jackie Warner DVD, routines from SELF and Fitness)
  • Shredding with Jillian at least once a week
  • Running three days a week

 I am not in a position to join a gym right now (at least, not one that’s up to my standards) so I’ll be working out at home.  I hate strength training, so I’ll be doing that in the morning, to get it over with. Fiance is my new running buddy, so that’s easy enough to stick to.

I miss being sore, being barely able to walk after a really intense boot camp class. I’m looking forward to pushing myself again.

June 2006

Because as fun as it is to cruise the Internet and chill on the couch  not weighing 300 pounds is even better.

Do you schedule your workouts? What is your favorite at-home workout?

