I think it’s Weight Watchers that has the slogan “Stop dieting, start living!” I never fully understood their Points system (and to be honest, I am never going to do a complex equation before I eat) but I like what they’re saying. And it’s worth remembering — especially if you are new to weight loss and healthy living.

When you first start to lose weight, it can be kind of overwhelming. There are lots of things you have to think about now that you didn’t before. What you are going to eat; when you are going to eat; when and where you are going to exercise. And in the beginning, you don’t want anything to throw you off track, so you might be tempted to lose yourself in your weight loss. That’s a bad idea, because whether you drop five pounds or 50, life moves on.

There will be last-minute dinner plans with friends. A quick trip to the mall will take too long and interfere with your workout. Last night, fiance and I were going to do Jackie Warner’s Power Circuit training DVD (review here — and don’t be jealous, but my copy is signed), but first we had to hit the grocery because we were too lazy to do it Sunday. The grocery on a weeknight between 5 and 7 p.m. is its own kind of hell, but it had to be done.

For whatever reason, our grocery expedition took longer than it should have. I was starving by the time we left, and it’s a good thing fiance was there to run interference, or I’d have bought All-Nighter Cheesburger Doritos, chocolate chip Eggos and red velvet cake ice cream and eaten all three for dinner. That’s why they tell you not to shop hungry. You will make terrible decisions. But I digress.

By the time we got home, there was time for dinner and not much else. I felt the slightest niggling of guilt, but I got over it. We had to get groceries. We made healthy choices all day. I’d done some strength work earlier. Sometimes, you have to settle for the best you can do. Because really, aren’t you making all these efforts to be healthy so you can enjoy your life?

