I was never much of a cook until I started to lose weight, and to be honest, I’m still not. The more I do it, the more I like it, but I am definitely lacking the innate ability to whip up at delicious meals at the drop of a hat. I tend to haphazardly follow a recipe and if it works, I’m excited.

So I’ve kinda held back on making my own pizza dough, but as I mentioned recently, pizza is my thing. And I knew that the healthiest way to enjoy pizza, the most weight-loss friendly way to eat pizza, would be to make it at home. Google knows me pretty well, and when I went to search for pizza dough recipes, it suggested adding “easy” to my query for whole wheat pizza crust.

So, “whole + wheat + pizza  + crust + easy” led me to Cooks.com for this recipe for whole wheat honey pizza dough.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups white flour
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pkg. active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey

I mixed the flours, salt and yeast together; then I added the olive oil and honey and then the water. I used to my hands to form a big, wet dough ball (and ended up having to add a little bit more, maybe 1/2 cup). The recipe on cooks says to knead the dough for 6 minutes on a “lightly floured surface”; I kneaded it in the bowl I mixed it in. Sometimes, I took it out and kneaded it with one hand while holding it in the other.

I covered it with a warm, moist towel and let it rise for 30 minutes; then I spread it on a cookie sheet I’d sprayed with non-stick olive oil cooking spray.

Then I added toppings: Sauce, spinach, tomatoes, onions, 2 percent reduced fat Italian shredded cheese (a mix of mozzarella, parmesan, and I forget what else) and a few reduced-fat feta crumbles

Fresh veggies are nice, but times are tight in this house, so I used frozen spinach, frozen onions and canned tomatoes.  After baking at 475 for about 35ish minutes, this came out of the oven:

It was delicious! Next time, I’ll make sure the cheese is more evenly distributed (and use less). We each had about 2 1/2 square slices and there are plenty of leftovers, which we’ll reheat in a skillet.

A very rough look at how much this pizza cost to make:

Chopped frozen spinach – 1.09 for a 10-oz box (Thawed and drained; used not quite entire box)

Frozen chopped onion – 1.19 for a bag (used 1/2 bag … 58.5 cents)

Canned tomatoes with onion and garlic – 79 cents

Sauce – 1.49 – used 3/4 of jar – about $1

I have no idea how to break down how much the flours, olive oil or honey cost per serving. Well, I do, but math is not my strong point and let’s just say it would be pennies. I think it’s safe to say this pizza cost less than $5 to make and was about as healthy as pizza is going to get.

