Fiance’s coworker recommended a Greek restaurant in the area, and we decided to check it out last week. The menu looked good and reasonably priced, and fiance’s coworker had shared some of his leftovers with him, and he said they were pretty tasty. So, inexpensive + tasty = we were there.

I was pretty excited when they had souvlaki on the menu – but why wouldn’t they? It is a Greek dish. I had only ever had souvlaki at one of my favorite restaurants in Pennsylvania, but I liked it so much I ordered it most of the time I went there. I blogged about my love for souvlaki here. From the menu, I knew that this souvlaki would be a little different. It would come with pork (the other restaurant offered chicken or steak) and tzatziki (yogurt-based) sauce and tomatoes and onions.

 

014

I was disappointed because my other souvlaki came with blackened vegetables. These were raw. Another of fiance’s coworkers was stationed in Greece in the Navy and he said that the raw veggies were actually more authentic.

You could add fries to the souvlaki for $1, so I did that and shared them with fiance.

015

Fiance ordered the spinach pie platter.

012

013

I really enjoyed the few bites I had, but I don’t know if I like spinach that much, that I could eat that many gobs of it. Fiance does, though!

The spinach pie platter is actually where things started to go downhill. It was listed under the “dinners” section of the menu, and underneath the “dinners” heading, it was stated that all dinners came with “8 oz. of garlic bread.” (So precise!) However, a half-pound of garlic bread did not show up with our meals, so fiance asked about it, and the server told him that it didn’t come with the meal. He had snagged a takeout menu before we were seated and pulled it out of his pocket. After double-checking that his meal was in fact supposed to include garlic bread, he approached the counter, where the surly woman who had taken our drink order said that only the spinach pie platter and one other under the “dinners” heading did not include the garlic bread (which was not specified on the menu).

Fiance was, she said, welcome to purchase garlic bread if he wanted some with his meal.

The food at Greek Garden was pretty good. But it was not good enough to tolerate such service. Even if the no-garlic-bread-with-these-two-unspecified-dinners is your unwritten mystery policy, if someone makes an issue, I think you should give him the garlic bread. And then have new menus printed.

My restaurant advice

A lot of the eating-out advice in magazines preaches about how to eat out healthfully and stick to your diet. If I’m just meeting someone for lunch at a place I go to all the time, or if I’m at a chain restaurant, then I definitely check out the menu ahead of time and try to choose wisely. But at a place like Greek Garden, I’m probably going to order whatever sounds good from the menu, and to do so, I eat lighter earlier in the day.

I know that the whole saving-your-calories-for-a-“splurge” philosophy is not new, but it’s gotten a bad rap recently, and I don’t think that’s fair. I once read some diet advice that said to never order anything in a restaurant that you can’t make yourself at home. Well, that’s why I go to restaurants! I do much better if I save my splurges for restaurants and don’t bring the fattening “cheat” foods into the house. That way, I’ve had my treat and it was great, but it ends when I leave the restaurant.

