I was ridiculously excited when the folks at MyBlogSpark asked if I would like to review some new CoverGirl products. I love trying new make-up.

I have to say, the CoverGirl folks totally outdid themselves with the press (blogger?) kit. A few weeks after the e-mail exchange, I came home to find a giant box in the living room. Fiance had come home first and dragged it inside. It should embarrass me to tell this tale, but the first thought that flitted through my mind was, What if some company read my blog and sent me a wedding dress like Vivienne Westwood sent to Carrie Bradshaw in the first “Sex and the City” movie?!

I know. Ridiculous. But true. Sadly.

There was no sweet note from a couture bridal designer inside the shipping carton but instead a big CoverGirl box that held three make-up kits, each for creating a different type of smoky eye.

And …

a Pier1 director’s chair! I could not believe it when I opened the box, removed the layer holding the kits and found a chair!

The chair was nice, but I wasn’t about to be swayed by cool swag. I wanted to see if this make-up really worked. Nothing is more disappointing to me than when you’re so excited to try a new product and get it home only to find that it sucks.

The CoverGirl folks included several how-to sheets and even a little USB stick that held a video tutorial, but I didn’t watch it. I figured, if you are going to buy this at the drugstore, you are not going to sit and watch a video about it first. You’re going to come, tear the box open, read those instructions and have at. So that’s what I did.

I decided to try the Natural Smoky Eye Kit, which included coordinating eyeshadow, eyeline and mascara.

I was a little put off when I saw that the eyeshadow was a cream stick. I always use powder eyeshadow and have never had any luck with cream eyeshadows — they always seems to fade or run into my eye. The cream eyeshadow stick is double-sided with two different colors.

Fresh faced from the shower (and in desperate need of an eyebrow wax)

The kit explained how to apply the cream eyeshadow — where to put each color on the eye. I usually have trouble following these guides, but this was one pretty simple.

I wasn’t crazy about the idea of brown mascara, but it didn’t look as unnatural as I feared.

As for the cream shadow, it stayed put better than any I had tried previously. It did fade toward the end of the day in some places, like in the crease, but I am not sure if a cream shadow exists that could withstand a day of running errands in the Florida humidity and still look picture-perfect 12 hours later. I still prefer powder eyeshadows but will definitely use this on occasion.

The instructions were simply and the make-up was high quality, so if you’re looking to mix up your make-up routine, I would recommend that you give this a try. And you might be able to for free!

Giveaway!

CoverGirl and MyBlogSpark will give a $20 Walmart gift card to one lucky Fashionably Fit reader, so you can buy your own smoky eye kit and, well, get smokin’. There are three ways you can enter to win the giftcard:

1) Leave a comment telling me the best beauty product bargain you’ve ever found (mine would be CoverGirl’s Super Thick Lash Mascara, which is the best $4 mascara out there)

2) Become a fan of Fashionably Fit on Facebook and then leave another comment that you did. I need you to leave another comment so that that number becomes your entry when I use a random integer generator to choose the winner

3) Tweet about the giveaway or link back to it on your blog, and again, please leave a comment with the link.

The giveaway will be close at 10 p.m. EST Sunday, Aug. 15. I’ll announce the winner on Monday. Good luck!

