I love breakfast. Every diet and weight loss advice article ever written will tell you that you should eat breakfast. That’s the only reason I started to regularly eat breakfast when I started to lose weight — because that’s what “they” tell you. Now, I wake up hungry, and breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.

I started as a a Special K devotee, switched to Kashi Go Lean a few years ago, and this summer, I ditched the cereal  in favor of scrambled egg whites. But that is a standard weekday breakfast. On the weekends, I love to go out for breakfast or make something a little more involved at home.

Our friends Kassia and Scott spent the weekend at our home, and I wanted to make a hearty breakfast to fuel us for the Saturday we had planned: hitting the farmers’ market and dress shopping. I found this recipe for a make-ahead egg bake on Cooking Light’s community forums and modified it to create a dish with what we had on hand.

I used:

  •  Three links of sweet Italian turkey sausage, fully cooked, casings removed and crumbled
  • A loaf of “artisan” French bread from the Super Target bakery (I learned that they a have a machine that will slice the bread for you if you ask)
  • Green pepper, chopped
  • Part-skim mozzarella cheese (Between 1/4 and 1/2 cup … none of my cooking is exact)
  • 1 1/2 cups liquid egg whites
  • 1 cup 1 percent milk

Toast the bread and cut into cubes. Coat an 8-inch by 8-inch pan with non-stick spray and put the meat in the bottom of the dish. Layer half of the cheese on top of the meat, followed by the chopped peppers, then the bread, and the rest of the cheese. Whisk together egg whites and milk; pour over casserole.

The original recipe tells you to cover and refrigerate 8 hours or overnight. I did that, and my dish took so much longer than the suggest cooking time that we were starving by the time it was ready. We joked that there must be trolls on the Cooking Light forums who cackle with glee at the thought of people waiting for this egg bake on Christmas morning as their children whine from the living room.

I will definitely make this in the future, but I won’t assemble it until the next morning. I’ll have the bread cubed, the meat cooked and crumbled and veggies chopped, but I’ll put it together just before it goes in the oven.

What’s your favorite weekend breakfast?

