When I sit down to plan our meals for the week, I’ll say to fiance, “What are you in the mood for this week?”

And he’ll say something along the lines of “Anything, really.”

So I try again: “Are you craving anything? Something we haven’t had in awhile?”

And he’ll shrug and say everything I make is good, so whatever I come up with is A-OK with him.

Two words: Cop. Out.

For me, the most stressful part of cooking is planning recipes and a subsequent grocery list for the week. I’ve posted tips about how I get through it , but there are some weeks I want to hurl my notepad into the wall and say, “Guess what? Mexican take-out for EVERY MEAL!”

I keep coming back to one dish, and I probably make it every other week: white chicken chili.

I actually used to make this in Pennsylvania, but I would buy the McCormick’s spice packet. It was delicious, but it always felt like cheating. So I was thrilled to stumble on Creamy White Chicken Chili from Eat, Live, Run. I use ground turkey because it’s faster and Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, but it’s such a simple, delicious recipe. I make it from memory now.

I hesitate every time I pencil the chili into our meal plan because I don’t want to fall into that classic working woman trap of seven or eight meals in rotation. I can see how and why it happens, but I enjoy cooking and want to keep pushing myself to experiment.

Do you have a go-to weeknight meal? How often do you have it?

